Social Security Five-Step Sequential Evaluation Process

Obtaining social security disability benefits can be a long and difficult process. The social security administration reviews cases using a five-step sequential evaluation process. The steps are as followings:

  1. Are you engaged in substantial gainful activity?
  2. Do you have a severe medical determinable physical or mental impairment that has lasted or is expected to last for 12 months or more?
  3. Does your impairment meet or equal a social security listing?
  4. Are you capable of performing past relevant work?
  5. Are you capable of performing other work?

Give our office a call for more detail on the sequential evaluation process and how your circumstances relate to these questions.

Posted in